Tags

, , , ,

I’m 35. At this point in my life I have a mortgage, a husband, a dog and I actually “do” yardwork. I also have to get up early every day and drive to my 8:30 to 4:30 job. While I occasionally might have a few drinks during the week, at this point in my life, it’s nothing crazy. It’s shocking to me that for feeling young so often, when I do compare myself to people in their 20s, I see a big divide.

I’m sure this happens at every stage of a person’s life: you end up doing things you never thought you would or you puss out on things that before you would have been excited about. It’s just those odd moments where it strikes you and you realize it, and you’re like “Holy shit. I’m 35. I’m married and I have a mortgage.”

Last night my husband and a friend went to have dinner at a bar in town. We sat on the patio. There were gobs of young kids at tables (for the sake of this post, young kids means about 23 or 25). After an hour, more would come up. Then an another hour would pass and more would still come to join them.

I said to my husband, “If we called 10 of our friends right now to meet us here, I don’t think we could get one person to show up.” He wanted to disagree and feel the youth of his unshackled spontaneous friends but then simply shrugged in agreement.

I was telling this to a co-worker today. She asked, “Well what time was it? Maybe I would have come out if you called.” I said it was about 9:00 p.m. She sort of laughed and seemed shocked, “9:00?? Uhh yeah. Not me. Maybe on a Friday.”

Then I thought, my god this is it. I have officially transitioned to the stage in my life where I don’t call people at night during the week to meet for drinks and if someone were to call me, chances are good, I’d be hunkering down with Law & Order or doing the dinner’s dishes, but I definitely would not be feeling mercurial enough to switch up my plans at that hour and hit the bar without much advance notice. Can’t wait to see what else I won’t be doing another decade from now …

