Tags

, , ,

The Pink Agendist and a few others asked for some vegan recipes to throw into their rotations. This is a recipe I actually found in a magazine a year ago and just now got around to making it. Don’t let the list of ingredients scare you. Once you get your hands dirty and start chopping and sauteing, the time goes by pretty quickly.

The best way I can describe these tacos is avant garde, which seems a funny description for something that’s usually so basic. My husband and I love Mexican food. There’s no limit to how thoroughly I can enjoy tacos, tostadas, enchiladas, fajitas, etc. I want to scream at all of them, “Get in my belly!” However, this recipe calls for roasting the vegetables and drying the beans. A new twist for me! I love roasted vegetables but never thought about throwing them in a shell. Then the green “lettuce” portion consists of cilantro and avocado. Oh, sweet Mexican love!

So, here is the recipe for Vegetable Tacos with Chipotle Sour Cream and Smoky Black Beans. I know that sour cream isn’t vegan so I made my own chipotle cream based on a recipe in Tal Ronnen’s book.  It was half vegan mayonnaise and half of his signature cashew cream mixed with chipotle peppers in adobo sauce.  To make the cashew cream, you take raw, unsalted whole cashews and soak them overnight in water. The next day you drain the water, add them to a blender, cover them with more cold water, and just cream away for a few minutes.  Don’t you love anything that calls for just “creaming away”? Ha! I laugh at myself.

Don’t be intimidated! They are well worth the time!

